Lone Star Junction

Since 1995

A Family Friendly Website
About Texas and Its Rich History

A Texas

San Antonio's
Military Plaza

Battleship Texas (I & II)

First Flight in Texas

The Texas
Camel Experiment

The Six National Flags
of Texas

Flags of the
Texas Revolution

The Capitols of Texas

The First
State Fair of Texas

Money of the
Republic of Texas

The Texas Rangers

of the Republic

The Five Missions
of Old San Antonio

The Texas Constitution

U. S. Postage Stamps
About Texas and Texans

The Crash at Crush

Texas Baseball
in the Early 1900s

Early Texas
Baseball Cards

Heroes of Texas Fiction

Other Tidbits
of Texas Trivia

The Capitols of Texas

The following capitol buildings were used by the Republic of Texas, then by the State, starting from the beginning of the Republic through today's capitol:

Washington-on-the-Brazos (1836)

The ad interim government of the Republic of Texas was formed at the Convention of 1836, which met in primitive quarters at Washington- on-the-Brazos from March 1 through March 17, 1836.

Columbia (1836)

After winning independence from Mexico at the Battle of San Jacinto, the first permanent government of the Republic was elected under President Sam Houston, and met in this building at Columbia in the Fall of 1836.

Houston (1837-1839)

The newly founded town of Houston served as the seat of government from the Spring of 1837 until November of 1839. The building was constructed at the corner of Texas Avenue and Main Street.

Austin (1839-1842; 1845-1855)

In November of 1839, the Congress of the Republic first met in Austin. Because of the exposure of Austin to the hazards of the western frontier, however, the government met in Houston and at Washington on the Brazos between 1842 and 1845.

Washington-on-the-Brazos (1842-1845)

Because of the exposure of Austin to the hazards of the western frontier, Sam Houston convenend Congress at Washington-on-the-Brazos in 1842. The government operated from here and the town of Houston until returning to Austin in 1845.

Austin (1855-1881)

An election held in 1850 reaffirmed Austin as the capitol, after which this building was completed in 1855. The building served as the capitol for just over a quarter of a century before it was destroyed by fire in 1881.

Temporary Capitol (1881-1888)

From these temporary quarters in Austin, the Texas Legislature in 1882 approved the sale of 3,000,000 acres of public land to finance the construction of a new permanent capitol.

Present Capitol of Texas (1888-

Dedicated in May 1888, the present capitol in Austin has now served the state for over 100 years. Among the first improvements for the new capitol were wiring for electric lighting and the construction of an iron fence around the perimeter.

Lone Star Junction Sponsors


National Geographic
Birds of Texas

Texas Boot
Bird House

Return to Lone Star Junction Home Page
Copyrightę 1995-2012   Lone Star Junction